Posted in SocialMedia

Twitter Hashtag Chat Group Index

Free twitter badge
Image via Wikipedia

Hello again everyone!

This will be a short post to expound upon my tweets about my latest effort to support my Twitter cohorts.

A couple of days ago, I was tweeting about stumbling across #TChat (Talent Chat) on Twitter and how awesome it was to find another chat group.  One person I follow, Dean Clevett (aka @DinoDinosaur1)  from Ontario, Canada, posted this in response:

@justasked Wouldn’t it be great if someone came up with a directory of #chat

So, I racked my brain for an easy-to-use, widely accessible location.  My initial choice was Wikipedia.  Within seconds after posting my new page, there was a notice posted to my account and on the page from the gardeners of Wikipedia to delete the page.  Their comment was that with Twitter, an unlimited number of hashtags were possible, and that they would let the Library of Congress handle this “listing” since they archive all tweets now anyway.   My rebuttal stated that I didn’t want to catalog EVERY hashtag on Twitter, just those used for Chat or Focus groups.

To make a long story short, before I knew it I had violated several “rules” Wikipedia has for management of their pages.  Finally, one individual called me a newbie and suggested that I take my content to Wikia!  Alas, a solution that doesn’t have SO many rules!  And thus, I present you with our new “Twitter Hashtag Chat Group Index.”

It’s easy to add your own Chat Group or Community of Interest Hashtag to this Wiki page!  Your only requirement is to create an account, be patient with yourself, and experiment!  If it seems a bit too daunting for you, feel free to email me with your hashtag, a brief description of the purpose of your group chat, and what day/time of the week you convene your chats.  If your group also maintains a Fan Page on Facebook pass me your link and I’ll add it as well.  I’m happy to help!

Author:

Eternal Optimist, Writer, Music Lover, Avid Gardener, Science & Tech Admirer, Cook, Baker and Social Networking Encourager

One thought on “Twitter Hashtag Chat Group Index

Leave a Reply

